Verstappen wins USGP, Pink Bull takes 2022 F1 groups’ title


Pink Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen managed to carry off Mercedes-Benz AMG’s Lewis Hamilton to safe victory on Sunday on the 2022 Formulation 1 United States Grand Prix.

Verstappen was already topped the 2022 world champion on the earlier spherical in Japan, however his victory on the U.S. Grand Prix, held in Austin, Texas, helped safe Pink Bull the 2022 Constructors’ title. It is the primary time the group has taken the title since 2013.

Verstappen and his group devoted the victory to Dietrich Mateschitz, Pink Bull’s co-founder and proprietor of the Pink Bull F1 group, who handed away on Oct. 22 following a drawn-out battle with most cancers.

There was loads of motion within the race, which noticed Verstappen benefit from an excellent begin to leap forward of polesitter Carlos Sainz of Ferrari, who was quickly compelled to retire after being hit on the first nook by George Russell after the Mercedes driver locked his brakes going into the flip. Russell raced on however was given a five-second penalty.

2022 Formula 1 United States Grand Prix - Photo credit: Getty Images

2022 Formulation 1 United States Grand Prix – Picture credit score: Getty Pictures

It then regarded like Verstappen was in for a straightforward victory however issues took a flip when Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas spun into the gravel on lap 18, inflicting the protection automotive to emerge. Verstappen was nonetheless within the lead after the restart however then the protection automotive was referred to as again out solely moments later attributable to a significant crash when Alpine’s Fernando Alonso hit the again of Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll throughout a high-speed passing maneuver down the again straight.

The race resumed on lap 26, with Verstappen main, adopted intently by Hamilton after which Pink Bull’s Sergio Perez and Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc. Each Perez and Leclerc drove impressively to make their method to the lead pack after beginning down the order attributable to penalties hooked up to swapping energy unit parts.

Hamilton then made a pit cease on lap 35, after which Verstappen responded by stopping as nicely. A delay for Verstappen meant he got here out behind each Hamilton and Leclerc. Verstappen managed to cross Leclerc a number of laps later however was a number of seconds behind Hamilton. Verstappen then put in a sequence of quickest laps to meet up with Hamilton, and at six laps to go Verstappen made use of the DRS to cross Hamilton and cruise on to victory. Hamilton would cross the end line in second place, some 5 seconds later, whereas Leclerc would declare third, some 7.5 seconds behind the winner.

Following the weekend’s motion, Verstappen leads the 2022 Drivers’ Championship with 391 factors. Leclerc is second with 267 factors and Perez third with 265 factors. Within the Constructors’ Championship, Pink Bull sits on an unbeatable 656 factors, versus the 469 of Ferrari and 416 of Mercedes. The following race on the calendar is the Mexican Grand Prix scheduled for this weekend.

2022 Formula 1 United States Grand Prix - Photo credit: Getty Images

2022 Formulation 1 United States Grand Prix – Picture credit score: Getty Pictures

Under are the complete outcomes from the 2022 Formulation 1 United States Grand Prix:

1) Max Verstappen, Pink Bull Racing
2) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-Benz AMG +5.023 seconds
3) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari +7.501 seconds
4) Sergio Perez, Pink Bull Racing +8.293 seconds
5) George Russell, Mercedes-Benz AMG +44.815 seconds
6) Lando Norris, McLaren +53.785 seconds
7) Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin +65.354 seconds
8) Kevin Magnussen, Haas +65.834 seconds
9) Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri +70.919 seconds
10) Esteban Ocon, Alpine +72.875 seconds
11) Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo +76.164 seconds
12) Alex Albon, Williams +80.057 seconds
13) Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri +81.763 seconds
14) Mick Schumacher, Haas +84.490 seconds
15) Fernando Alonso, Alpine +85.078 seconds
16) Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren +90.487 seconds
17) Nicholas Latifi, Williams +103.588 seconds
NC) Lance Stroll, Aston Martin – DNF
NC) Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo – DNF
NC) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari – DNF


Leave a Comment