Russell takes first win at action-packed 2022 F1 Brazilian GP


Mercedes-Benz AMG’s George Russell secured his maiden win on Sunday at an action-packed 2022 Formulation 1 Brazilian Grand Prix, held at São Paulo’s Autódromo José Carlos Tempo.

Lewis Hamilton completed second to make it a Mercedes one-two end, whereas Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz rounded out the highest three.

Russell began the race on the pole after a superb run in Saturday’s dash race qualifier, and was joined on the entrance by Hamilton after sprint-race second-placer Sainz took a five-place grid penalty for swapping in a brand new energy unit. Instantly behind the Mercedes duo had been Purple Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez in third and fourth.

Issues went easily till McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo bumped into the again of Haas’ Kevin Magnussen, which introduced out the protection automotive. The race restarted on lap seven, with Russell within the lead and Verstappen in third trying to maneuver into second by overtaking Hamilton. The 2 got here into contact, with Hamilton getting pushed off the monitor and Verstappen needing to pit for a brand new entrance wing. Verstappen was later handed a five-second penalty by the stewards.

After dropping right down to seventeenth, Verstappen began to battle his means again up the order, whereas Hamilton at this level was in second, behind Russell. By the point Verstappen was in twelfth, Hamilton made his first cease, rising at third, behind Perez in second and Russell within the lead. Perez did his greatest to carry off Hamilton however finally misplaced the place on lap 44 as a consequence of older tires.

Sergio Perez at the 2022 Formula 1 Brazilian Grand Prix

Sergio Perez on the 2022 Formulation 1 Brazilian Grand Prix

Perez finally stopped to swap for medium tires after which his luck ran out when McLaren’s Lando Norris stopped on the monitor on lap 52 as a consequence of a lack of energy, requiring the digital security automotive to be referred to as. Bother getting Norris off the monitor then triggered the precise security automotive to come back out on lap 55.

Lapped automobiles had been permitted to overhaul the protection automotive on lap 58 and the race resumed on lap 60, with quite a lot of the leaders having swapped to gentle tires. After the restart, Perez on his mediums quickly misplaced positions to Alpine’s Fernando Alonso, Sainz, and fellow Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc, with the Purple Bull driver falling again to sixth.

Verstappen in the meantime was in seventh and was given group orders to go Perez to battle the drivers forward and deny them from taking extra factors from Perez, who stays within the battle for second within the championship with Leclerc. Nonetheless, the group orders had the situation that Verstappen would wish to provide again the place to Perez if he didn’t make floor, which Verstappen later didn’t do.

The group then requested Verstappen to provide sixth place again to Perez however he refused the order, later stating he had his causes. Verstappen, who’s already the 2022 champion, finally completed sixth, with Perez in seventh.

The groups now head to Abu Dhabi for the ultimate spherical of the 2022 season, which takes place this weekend. Within the Drivers’ Championship, Verstappen sits on 429 factors, forward of Leclerc and Perez who each have 290 factors. Nonetheless, Leclerc is at the moment ranked second as a result of he has extra wins this season. Within the Constructors’ Championship, Purple Bull sits on 719 factors, versus the 524 of Ferrari and 505 of Mercedes.

Geoerge Russell at the 2022 Formula 1 Brazilian Grand Prix

Geoerge Russell on the 2022 Formulation 1 Brazilian Grand Prix

Under are the complete outcomes from the 2022 Formulation 1 Brazilian Grand Prix:

1) George Russell, Mercedes-Benz AMG
2) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-Benz AMG +1.529 seconds
3) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari +4.051 seconds
4) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari +8.441 seconds
5) Fernando Alonso, Alpine +9.561 seconds
6) Max Verstappen, Purple Bull Racing +10.056 seconds
7) Sergio Perez, Purple Bull Racing +14.080 seconds
8) Esteban Ocon, Alpine +18.690 seconds
9) Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo +22.552 seconds
10) Lance Stroll, Aston Martin +23.552 seconds
11) Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin +26.183 seconds
12) Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo +29.325 seconds
13) Mick Schumacher, Haas +29.899 seconds
14) Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri +31.867 seconds
15) Alex Albon, Williams +36.016 seconds
16) Nicholas Latifi, Williams +37.038 seconds
17) Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri +1 lap
NC) Lando Norris, McLaren – DNF
NC) Kevin Magnussen, Haas – DNF
NC) Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren – DNF


Leave a Comment